,
Message sent from:
‘Inspiring children to succeed’

Helping your child at home

We encourage all families to read with their children every night. Children take home levelled reading books as well as a library book each week.

Homework is given from Reception class upwards on a weekly basis. Children have homework books to complete activities. Curriculum Newsletters from each class detail types of homework to be covered, when it is set, when to return it and the length of time children should spend completing work.

The following websites are free and are appropriate educational sites to support learning and the National Curriculum:

English

Bite Size pages 

Dance Mat Typing 

Jessie Goes to the Park

Spelling Match

Spelling Fleas

Spin and Spell 

Story Maker 

Trapped

Mathematics

Count Me In http://www.abc.net.au/countusin/games/game3.htm

 

Hexafield http://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/ks2/maths/number/addition_subtraction/play/

 

Jet Ski Maths http://www.arcademics.com/games/jetski/jetski.html

 

Learn Your Tables http://www.learnyourtables.co.uk/en/index2.htm

 

Maths Brain http://www.funbrain.com/brain/MathBrain/MathBrain.html

 

Moon Maths http://www.primaryresources.co.uk/online/moonmaths.swf

 

Power Lines http://www.primarygames.co.uk/pg2/powerlines/powerlines1.html

 

Subtraction Bowling http://www.learnalberta.ca/content/me3us/flash/lessonLauncher.html?lesson=lessons/07/m3_07_00_x.swf

 

Times Table Puzzles http://www.mad4maths.com/3_x_multiplication_table_math_game/

 

Who Wants to be a Mathionaire? http://www.mathsisfun.com/games/mathionaire-addition-quiz.html

 

Science

Bite Size Science http://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/ks2/science/living_things/plants/play/

 

Climate Cops http://www.climatecops.com/

 

Eco Challenge http://www.tryscience.org/nysd/

 

Fish Food http://www.nwf.org/Kids/Games/Fish-Food-Game.aspx

 

Forces In Action http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/scienceclips/ages/10_11/forces_action.shtml

 

Moving and Growing http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/scienceclips/ages/8_9/moving_growing_fs.shtml

 

Roller Coaster http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/digger/7_9entry/7.shtml

 

Sid the Science Kid http://pbskids.org/sid/scientist.html

 

Sproket Rocket https://www.primarysite-kidszone.co.uk/kidszone/resources/sprocket.html

 

Teeth and Eating http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/scienceclips/ages/7_8/teeth_eating_fs.shtml

 

History

A Journey Begins Through Time http://www.historyonthenet.com/Chronology/Journey/journeybegin.htm

 

Fling the Teacher http://www.schoolhistory.co.uk/games/fling/plague/

 

Great Fire of London http://www.fireoflondon.org.uk/game/

 

Joust http://www.tudorbritain.org/joust/index.asp

 

History Hunt http://stalbansmuseums.org.uk/historyhunt/

 

Mummy Makers http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/interactive/games/mummy_maker/index.shtml

 

Step Back http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/dynamo/history/stepback.shtml

 

Young Explorers http://www.britishmuseum.org/explore/young_explorers/play/time_explorer.aspx

 

Viking Quest http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/interactive/games/viking_quest/index_embed.shtml

 

Victorian Britain http://www.geffrye-museum.org.uk/learning/walk-through-a-victorian-house/walk-through/

 

General Games

Battleships https://www.primarysite-kidszone.co.uk/kidszone/resources/battleship.htm

 

Blind Spot https://www.primarysite-kidszone.co.uk/kidszone/resources/blindspot.htm

 

Bouncing Balls https://www.primarysite-kidszone.co.uk/KidsZone/resources/bouncing.htm

 

Candy Bags https://www.primarysite-kidszone.co.uk/KidsZone/resources/candy.htm

 

Colour Trap https://www.primarysite-kidszone.co.uk/kidszone/resources/colourtrap.htm

 

Connect 4 https://www.primarysite-kidszone.co.uk/KidsZone/resources/connect4.htm

 

Leap Froggies https://www.primarysite-kidszone.co.uk/KidsZone/resources/leap_froggies.html

 

Marble Lines https://www.primarysite-kidszone.co.uk/kidszone/resources/marble.htm

 

Mars Lander https://www.primarysite-kidszone.co.uk/KidsZone/resources/lander.htm

 

Maze Race https://www.primarysite-kidszone.co.uk/kidszone/resources/mazerace.htm

 

O’s and X’s https://www.primarysite-kidszone.co.uk/KidsZone/resources/tictactoe.htm

 

Parking Mania https://www.primarysite-kidszone.co.uk/kidszone/resources/parking.htm

 

Pool Practice https://www.primarysite-kidszone.co.uk/kidszone/resources/pool.htm

 

Spider https://www.primarysite-kidszone.co.uk/kidszone/resources/spider.htm

 

Snake Game https://www.primarysite-kidszone.co.uk/KidsZone/resources/snake.htm

 

Staries https://www.primarysite-kidszone.co.uk/kidszone/resources/stars.htm

 

Wizard Balls https://www.primarysite-kidszone.co.uk/KidsZone/resources/wizardballs.htm

 

Wolf Sheep and Cabbage https://www.primarysite-kidszone.co.uk/kidszone/resources/wolf.htm

3-7 Year Olds

Catch and Save http://fishandkids.msc.org/en/play/games-films/catch-save

 

Cbeebies http://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/

 

Colouring In http://kids.sandiegozoo.org/activities/zoodles/create

 

Dynamo’s Quiz http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/dynamo/den/quiz/index.htm

 

Funny Face http://www.paulysplayhouse.com/paulys_playhouse/games/luigi.html

 

Grandpa in My Pocket http://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/grandpa-in-my-pocket#/lb/grandpa/catchmeifyoucangame

 

Norad Santa http://www.noradsanta.org/

 

Playground http://www.funbrain.com/brain/SweepsBrain/sweepsbrain.html

 

The Recycling Game  http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/barnabybear/games/recycle.shtml

 

Where In Britain? http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/barnabybear/games/where_in_britain.shtml

 

8-11 Year Olds

 

Ancient Greece Catapult http://www.childrensuniversity.manchester.ac.uk/media/services/thechildrensuniversityofmanchester/flash/ancient_greece_game_catapult.swf

 

Beat Bullying http://pbskids.org/itsmylife/games/bullies_flash.html

 

Cat In The Kitchen  http://fishandkids.msc.org/en

 

Crazy Crabs  http://www.paulysplayhouse.com/paulys_playhouse/games/crazy_crabs.html

 

Horrid Henry  http://www.horridhenry.co.uk/

 

Sky’s The Limit http://www.childline.org.uk/Play/Games/Pages/SkysTheLimit.aspx

 

Roman Mosaics http://www.gwydir.demon.co.uk/jo/mosaic/index.htm

 

Snakes and Hazards http://think.direct.gov.uk/education/early-years-and-primary/media/snakes_hazards/

 

Turkish Bizzare  http://www.bbc.co.uk/cbbc/games/turkish-bizarre-game