Message sent from:

Welcome to the Matisse

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the period of education from birth to 5 years. At Furness Primary, it starts in the Nursery class and ends in Reception.

The new Statutory Framework for the EYFS was published 31 March 2021 and is effective from 1 September 2021. There is a strong emphasis on learning through play, both child initiated and planned play. The curriculum is delivered through a combination of whole class activities, adult led focused activities and child initiated activities. The Department for Education Development Matters guidance was revised in July 2021.

The new EYFS framework has a stronger emphasis on the three prime areas which are most essential for children’s healthy development.

Prime areas are; Communication and Language, Physical Development and Personal, Social and Emotional Development.

Specific areas are: Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Art and Design.


Building the foundations

The principles which guide the work the children participate in are grouped under three themes:

A Unique child: Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self assured.

Positive relationships: Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and teachers

Enabling environments: The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.

Long Term Planning - 2023/2024

Playing and Exploring - Engagement

Active Learning Motivation

Creating and Thinking critically - Thinking

Hit enter to search